Review: Be My December. Rachel Brookes

image

I knew the exact moment I’d become a ‘yes’ girl. 
December 16th, a cold winter’s night, four years ago. 
The night my innocence was stolen, the night I made the mistake of saying no—a mistake I’d never make again. 
The dream of a ‘happily ever after’ was now a locked away myth. I promised myself that I’d never return to the place of my worst nightmare, that I’d never let anyone get close, but then again, I never thought I’d meet someone like him. 
The intense, confident and beautiful Ky Crawford.

I had no plans to become someone’s Prince Charming. 
I couldn’t be. I refused to be. My plan was simple—do whatever it takes to correct my biggest mistake, my one regret that now controlled my life. 
I was on track. I had plans, but then everything changed when I saw her—the girl in the red jacket, the girl who I was told couldn’t say no. 
The reserved yet stunning Eden Rivers.

A girl who can’t say no.
A guy who craves redemption.
A chance encounter?

It all comes down to this.
One question.
One month.

            

image

Where do you start with this book? Eden is one of the most broken heroines I’ve read in a long time. After being brutally raped,  Eden cannot say no. Saying no only got her hurt more. Instead she lives a half life trying to avoid any situation where saying no will cause any issues.

Ky is living a nightmare. He can’t find a way through the guilt he carries. He doesn’t think he deserves real happiness. 

 Neither of them are actually living. They are just existing.

 Finding herself back in the city where she was ruined, Eden is struggling. Until she meets Ky Crawford. Ky see’s Eden and knows he has to protect her. No matter what or who wants to hurt her.

 
This book is a mass of contradictions. It’s heartbreakingly sad, yet achingly beautiful. It will play on every emotion you have. It manages to do that because it is fantastically written. Lots of authors have tackled writing from the rape victims POV. For the most part they get it right. Rachel does it perfectly. It isn’t overly dramatized. There is nothing about this book that is sensationalised. Its brutally honest.

This book is a tough read. It is not fairytale. It deals with some messed up situations. Running through it all though is a stunning story of regret, forgiveness and second chances. Absolutely beautifully written and with a great group of characters to fall in love with. 

This is my first book from Rachel Brookes but it certainly won’t be the last.  I’d give more than 5 stars if I could.

image

*ARC provided for honest review*

 

Leave a Reply

