Tainted Black. Shanora Williams

Release date: September 11th 201525806507

I know you were hurting. I heard your cries. I wished over and over again that I could make it better, but as you stated I was too inexperienced; too good for someone as bad as you.
Perhaps you were right, but it didn’t matter because what I did know was that I loved the way you felt—loved the way you smelled. I loved how hard you got for me, and when you called me your Little Knight.
I can still remember that day in the park, when you held me close and kissed me deep. How you effortlessly made me cry your name on top of sweet smelling grass, making me feel like the only girl in the world. I loved how you looked at me, how you spoke to me.
I had been madly in love with you ever since I was twelve years old, but I shouldn’t have been.
Isabelle would have hated it—my best friend. I couldn’t afford to lose her. Besides, you two had already lost enough. Losing Mrs. Black was the epitome.

It’s Chloe Knight.
I wanted to be there for you no matter what, but Isabelle needed me too.
And she would have hated me if she ever found out I was sleeping with her father.

Mr Black was a no-no. He was off limits. He wasn’t Mine. I could never have him.

Where do I start with this book?  The author took my heart, stomped on it and then passed it back with a bow on it. The need to talk about this book is what has prompted me to start book blogging if I’m honest. I had the feeling maybe writing it down would help sort the tumult of feeling this book brings.

This is the story of Chloe and Theo. Chloe has been in love with Theo since she was 12, even though he is 20 years older. and he just happens to be her best friends dad. Theo has never looked at her as anything other than his daughters best friend. And then his wife dies suddenly. Chloe is now 19 years old and is the only person Theo can turn to. The only person he has to lean on.

Once their relationship changes Chloe finds she can’t cope with the hurt and guilt her actions could potentially cause. She leaves for college hoping to never return home.

Years later Chloe is back to look after her sick father. The connection she has with Theo is undeniable. Staying away from each other is impossible. Even knowing the potential fall out.

His soul was tainted black, and there was no going back.

The love between these two is so deep. Despite the obstacles you really feel they could have something very real.

This book literally grabbed me and refused to let go. I wasn’t able to put it down. I devoured it in one sitting.  Sometimes a book stays with you long after its finished. This certainly is one of those. It’s difficult to articulate why. Shanora Williams just makes it so easy to identify with these characters. Most of us will be able to identify with wanting something we can’t or at least shouldn’t have. But it’s more than that. So much more! The author write with such feeling, beautifully describing the anguish both characters feel.

It’s so hard to discuss the ending of this book without spoilers but all I will say is this book will stay with you for a long, long time. My message to the author after i finished this was ‘I have no words.  I’ll be back in a few days when my emotions are in order’  and honestly, a week later they still aren’t in order. Thinking of the epilogue still gives me a little kick in the stomach.  But I suppose that’s what a good book does. Makes you feel.  And boy does this book deliver on the feels!

We were like magnets, unwilling to break apart.

Rating: ***** 5 stars all the way!

Screenshot_2015-09-19-20-44-14~2

 

Leave a Reply

